Testimonials

"We LOVE Kawishiwi...!"
 
Canoeing on Lake One
Fishing on Lake One
Kevlar Canoe on Lake One
Sunrise on the BWCA
Dock at Lake One
Canoe in the Boundary Waters

Testimonials

"I stumbled on Kawishiwi Lodge on the internet.  I was intrigued by the lack of reviews and photos.  What caught my attention most is that there were no fake reviews.  Aha!   That made the most sense that a remote cabins in the Boundary Waters would be the kind that families returned to, year after year so there was no real need to advertise.  I was going to have to take a risk on this one.   After watching the full moon over the Lake through the pines, it was clear Kawishiwi Lodge was a Northwoods Paradise.l "
Dina J. & Jim R. Iowa City, IA

"We love cabin 17's large porch and raised section so we can view the lake and
activities around us.  This cabin and lake bring back fond memories of our trips into the BWCA in the late 60's and early 70's.  Our first camping trip was on Lake One in 1969.  We did see your cabins at that time and felt it a bit odd to see them so far out in the wilderness

You mentioned the rent increase this year and we support you on this.  We know of no other location like this, in the BWCA, on the waterfront, with dock, canoe, and equipment included in the price.  Cabin 17 is sure worth the price, and we feel it is a privilege to be able to rent such a cabin and be with such helpful and enthusiastic hosts.  Thanks to you, Jen, and Roger for helping make our visit an enjoyable adventure.  We look forward to seeing you all again in June 2014."

Fred & Dotty J. Green Bay, WI

"I plan to work with you guys in the future, your service has been much more user friendly than many of the other resorts I have worked with previously!"
Jordan P. MPLS, MN

"Frank & Nicole - Thanks so much. We all had a great time. You have a beautiful place and did a great job for us. 18 is lovely and comfortable. We hope to see you again.
P.S. All your staff is/was great, friendly and very helpful. "
Stu Yancy

"This is the 3rd year our group has used your services, and we love it. Frank, you make things very easy. Looking forward to it!"
Caleb Kopp

"Frank, let us know what you think. We value and respect your opinion and how well you operate Kawishiwi. Best regards..."
Steve

"We LOVE staying at Kawishiwi Lodge. The weather was beautiful, the cabin fun(!), but mostly, your hospitality was wonderful!"
Mike & Sally Fuglestad and Mike & Nancy Rohman

“My greatest expectations were easily met spending 2 weeks in cabin 7 – great friends week one and great fishing both weeks. Not sure about the king-sized bed, but loved every second we were here. Wish we could stay permanently.”
The Kruegers, June 2010

“Beautiful setting, great scenes from perfect dock. And the wildlife…ooh la la!! Terrific place to recharge the butterflies of life. Thanks, Frank and Nicole. See you soon!”
Bum and Donna Baumgartner, July 17, 2010

“Time to leave and get ready to plan our next trip back here. A perfect week of wildlife, canoe adventures, fish biting, sun, rain, loon calls, and the blueberry festival. New York seems a world away from here – no cell phones ringing, TVs playing, radios blaring or jet engines screaming above. Left some necessities here for the next family.”
Diane and Bill, July 25, 2009

“The cabin is our compromise – my husband would rather "backcountry it" for the whole week, but I like the modern conveniences. However, this trip was so successful, I am thinking about a longer backcountry trip in the future. Once you get out there, it’s hard to leave. You get into a certain mode and you don’t ever want to [go back home]. Thanks for the experience…”
Caroline and Bill Johnson, May 25, 2008

“Hey! Kawishiwi is the best... I have been coming here my whole life, and I enjoy it every year, whether it’s camping in tents or being in a cabin. This year is the first year I’ve kayaked. Wow, it was so much fun! I am already looking forward to next year. The people here are great! Well, see you all next year!!”
Tara, Bob, and Lassie Marinelli, July 7, 2002

“Cottage #7 was a needed adjustment without missing out on the beauty and wonder of this place. Each day we made a trip into new parts of the {surrounding] area. We saw beaver, loon, otter, eagles, turtles…but no moose. It has been a great week. Hope to bring our grandsons with us next year.”
Marcia Thompson, August 30, 2001

“We’ve been enjoying our stays at Kawishiwi Lodge for many years – about ten. We’ve stayed in many different cabins and have been here with our children, with relatives, and just by ourselves – each time with its own special times and memories made. We hope to be back many more times!”
Betty and Stan Brumm, August 19, 2001

“Words cannot describe what a joy this place has become, and it’s only our second year! This is our time to really feel all the beauty that exists in this world around us. Thank you to all the caring staff and owners. We will see you again next year. Have a wonderful and blessed year.”
Gene, Sandy, Ian, Renee, and Brian Hurley August 11, 2001

“I write this exactly one year to the date later. Yes, our second great year at cabin 7 in Kawishiwi, and what could be better! How it strikes you that nature is really in control here – no planes, highway noise, radios, motorboats, pollution, or crowds of people. Instead, the sun, wind, trees – birch, pine, and aspen – take over, along with prairie and woodland grasses (what are the lavender flowers/weeds that look like phlox?), osprey, squirrels, chipmunks, woodpeckers (and more I can’t name), plus the lakes with walleye, bass, bike, blue gill, and crappie, to name a few. And yet most of them are silent except for a loon calling, a bear grunting, or a duck quacking.”
Dorothy and Ed Rowe, July 28, 2001

“This is a wonderful place to relax, unwind, and replenish the part of you that seems to wear away with the daily grind. The solitude of the wilderness, connection to the environment, endless waters in which to paddle and kayak, and fireside chats with your best friend - reminiscent of childhood - are all priceless. Thank you! I have a feeling I’ll be back. Put some sand in my shoes just in case!"
Aistina Caurr, August 7, 2000

“Many years of wonderful memories is right on! 13 years. While some things change, some never will. Ron and Ruth are gone, but the cabins are still getting better. The best part – the lakes, wildlife, quiet, and tranquility still endure. See ya next year!”
Gail Smith, July 20, 2000

“Best resort in the area. You understand what it’s about: screen porches, fire pits, and privacy. Thank you for many years of wonderful memories.”
Katy Fire, July 13, 2000